To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now

When is England's World Cup squad announced?

Brad Cox

| Last updated 

When is England's World Cup squad announced?

England's 2022 World Cup gets underway on Monday November 21 when they face Iran in the first match of Group B.

But when will we know who is going to be included in the Three Lions' squad for the 2022 Qatar World Cup?

Like any other England manager heading into a major tournament, Gareth Southgate has quite a few big decisions to make ahead of England's World Cup campaign.

FIFA have allowed a slightly larger squad than usual for the tournament with countries now able to include up to 26 players in their selection, with a minimum of 23.



When will England boss Gareth Southgate announce his final World Cup squad?

The official ruling states that the England boss will have to name his 26-man squad before November 13.

However, Southgate could release his squad on November 10 before the final round of Premier League fixtures.


When England played in the Nations League back in September, this was the squad that Southgate selected.

  • Goalkeepers: Nick Pope, Aaron Ramsdale, Dean Henderson.
  • Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Conor Coady, Marc Guehi, Fikayo Tomori, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Reece James, Kieran Trippier, Ben Chilwell, Kyle Walker.
  • Midfielders: Jude Bellingham, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice, Mason Mount, James Ward-Prowse.
  • Forwards: Tammy Abraham, Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, Jarrod Bowen, Bukayo Saka, Raheem Sterling, Ivan Toney, Harry Kane.
England in the Nations League at Wembley (Image Credit: Alamy)
England in the Nations League at Wembley (Image Credit: Alamy)

Who do England play in their World Cup group?


England's tournament begins with a clash against Iran on November 21, the day after host nation Qatar play Ecuador in the opening game.

Southgate's men will go to battle with the United States on November 25 before clashing with rival Wales on November 29.

The Three Lions will hope to reach the final, which will take place at the Lusail Stadium on December 18.

This will be Southgate's third major tournament as England boss and will be aiming to go one step further than in Euro 2020, when his side lost on penalties to Italy in the final at Wembley.

Featured Image Credit: Alamy

Topics: England, Football, Football World Cup, Gareth Southgate

Brad Cox
More like this

Chosen for YouChosen for You


Mason Greenwood adds Manchester United and Nike to Instagram bio after charges dropped

8 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Gabby Agbonlahor believes Casemiro should be arrested after red card against Crystal Palace

a day ago