To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories, we're happy to send you some reminders

Click 'OK' then 'Allow' to enable notifications

Not now
OK
Advert

Lionel Messi misses penalty in crucial World Cup clash against Poland

James Aldred

Published 
| Last updated 

Lionel Messi misses penalty in crucial World Cup clash against Poland

Lionel Messi was denied from the penalty spot in the first half of Argentina's crucial World Cup clash with Poland.

The 35 year old won the spot kick after colliding with the Polish goalkeeper Wojciech Szczęsny.

A lengthy VAR check followed before the referee awarded the penalty and gave Messi the chance to take his side within touching distance of the round of 16.

However, the PSG man's effort was saved brilliantly by Szczęsny, who dived to his right and pushed the ball away for a corner.

Advert

"Brilliant save," BBC Sport pundit Danny Murphy commented after the save.

"Exceptional."

The save was Szczęsny's second of the tournament so far.

Advert

The ex-Arsenal man produced similar heroics in Poland's 1-0 win against Saudi Arabia last week, a result which could take them into the knockout stages of the competition.

As it stands, the stalemate will be enough to take Argentina through but will Messi rue that miss later on?

Featured Image Credit: Twitter

Topics: Lionel Messi, Poland, Argentina, Football World Cup

James Aldred
More like this
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

Football

Moises Caicedo publicly declares he wants to leave Brighton following £60 million bid from Arsenal

9 hours ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read

'Get out of my club' - Arsenal fans have identified where the game was lost vs Man City

11 hours ago